SOA’s MFA Alumni Corrie Peters Wins First Ever SSNAP

Congratulations to Corrie Peters on Winning the first ever SSNAP! Below is the full write-up and link to an article with photos on her piece.

Salt Spring National Art Prize (SSNAP) Announces Winners From Across Canada

October 26, 2015

It is with great honour for the inaugural Salt Spring National Art Prize (SSNAP) to congratulate and announce winners of the 2015 Awards. All of the SSNAP finalists showed significant impact and depth of meaning, pushed boundaries and created meaningful dialogue, bringing context to cultural issues both local and global.

The independent, three-member jury preselected 52 finalists who were anonymous to the jury, then selected the winning works in person after the month-long exhibition at Mahon Hall, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia. The jurors included, curator Vicky Chainey Gagnon (The Rooms, St. John’s, NL), artist/educator Holger Kalberg (University of Winnipeg) and Salt Spring painter and former art instructor, (UBC) Ian Thomas.

Representing the best of contemporary work from across Canada, eight artists received awards from Eastern and Western Canada.

Salt Spring National Art Prize Awards as follows:

The “Joan McConnell Award” for Best in Show went to 38-year old Winnipeg, Manitoba artist, Corrie Peters, for her 3D sculpture work, “Building (All the rooming houses on my street have had their front door removed),” laser cut paper and sewing thread. The award includes a $10,000 cash prize and $5,000 artist residency on Salt Spring Island, BC.

Juror’s Choice Awards, three awards of $1,000 selected by each juror:

Quebec City, Quebec artist, Annie Baillargeon, “Les Cannibals.” 2D photographie/peinture: Juror Vicky Chainey Gagnon.

Vancouver, BC artist, Jessi McNeil, “Lunch Break in Les Tuileries.” 2D collage on paper: Juror Holger Kalberg.

Vancouver, BC, artist, M.E. Sparks, “We’d Like to Help.” 2D oil and acrylic on canvas: Juror Ian Thomas.

ASA Award (Alliance of Salt Spring Artists) $1,000 for best Salt Spring artist chosen by the Jury:

Susan Huber, “Wild Horse Wind Farm.” 2D Image.

Rosemarie Behncke People’s Choice Awards with a 1st Prize of $3,000, 2nd Prize of $2,000 and 3rd Prize of $1,000:

1st Prize: Salt Spring, BC artist, Nicola Wheston, “Tailgate Party.” 2D oil on canvas.

2nd Prize: Yellowknife, NT artist, Patricia Slighte, “Changes.” 2D ink on paper.

3rd Prize: Vancouver, BC artist, Eric Button, “The Death of Mr. Wolf.” 2D ink on paper.

To view the selected works, artist bios and statements, please visit

It is quite the accomplishment of all the Canadian visual artists who submitted to the show, and we encourage each artist to reflect on the importance of their artistic contribution to the growth of Canadian culture. And of the 52 finalists selected, it is important to note that every single piece of art exhibited received votes from the public, with over 1,200 votes cast in the People’s Choice Award.

We are delighted with the amazing success of the exhibition which ran for one month, hosted weekly artist talks, with over 2,000 visitors, including local schools, art organizations, members of the public and people who had traveled to the island to take part in the show.

On a national level the show incorporated all types of art, all mediums, all styles and all characteristics. The response has been overwhelmingly positive from here and across the country, and the arrival of a new Canadian art prize bodes well for the contemporary art scene in Canada. SSNAP is a biennial award with the next National Art Prize to be hosted in 2017.

Thank you to all of the artists and those across our country who have supported our inaugural National Art Prize.

Ronald T. Crawford

founding director

Catalogues for the exhibition may be purchased at

For more information about SSNAP, please visit:



%d bloggers like this: